Skip to content
FR Help 1-866-531-2600

Period 3 · Money & draws

Hospital and Charity Home Lotteries: Odds, Prize Value and What Your Ticket Buys

CasinoInspectors editors Last checked:

Canadian charity home lotteries publish enough in their rules to price a ticket: the number of tickets, the number of prizes and the total prize value. Divide the prize value by the tickets and the 2026 BC Children's Hospital Dream Lottery works out to about $10.94 per ticket, while the Winter 2027 Heart & Stroke Lottery comes to about $30 per ticket. The rest of the price is a donation, which is the point, but it helps to know the split.

Hospital and Charity Home Lotteries: Odds, Prize Value and What Your Ticket Buys
Photo: Raman Patel / Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 3.0
BC Children's Dream Lottery 2026
345,000 tickets; 2,361 prizes; $3,772,742 retail value
Heart & Stroke Winter 2027 Classic
107,100 tickets printed; 43,893 prizes; $3,232,343.41
Heart & Stroke published odds
1 to 2 for any prize
Princess Margaret Spring 2026
Over 15,000 prizes worth more than $14 million
Claim windows
BC Children's: one year; Heart & Stroke: six months
On this page 8 sections
  1. Why home lotteries are different from Lotto Max
  2. The three numbers to find on any rules page
  3. Three Canadian draws, side by side
  4. Working the numbers: BC Children's Hospital Dream Lottery
  5. Retail value versus what you would actually take home
  6. How to read and check the licence
  7. What happens to unclaimed prizes
  8. A five-minute pricing routine

Why home lotteries are different from Lotto Max

A hospital home lottery is a charitable raffle. Under section 207(1)(b) of the Criminal Code, a charitable organization may run a lottery only under a licence issued by the province, with proceeds going to charitable purposes. Unlike a provincial draw game, the prize board is fixed in advance and the number of tickets is usually capped. That combination is good news for buyers who like arithmetic: once you know the cap, the number of prizes and the value of the prize board, you can calculate both the odds and the average value of a ticket before you spend anything.

The figures below come from the published rules of three well-known Canadian draws. Editions change twice a year in some cases, so treat the numbers as a worked template and redo the sums with the edition you are looking at.

The three numbers to find on any rules page

  1. Tickets available. The maximum number of tickets that can be sold. If the draw is not capped, you cannot calculate worst-case odds.
  2. Number of prizes. Every prize counts once, from the showhome down to the smallest gift card.
  3. Total prize value. Usually stated as retail value, sometimes including taxes, fees and freight.

From these you get the two figures that matter: the chance a ticket wins anything (prizes ÷ tickets) and the prize value per ticket (total prize value ÷ tickets). Comparing the second number with the ticket price tells you how much of each dollar is lottery and how much is gift.

Three Canadian draws, side by side

ItemBC Children's Hospital Dream Lottery 2026 (BC)Heart & Stroke Lottery Winter 2027, Classic (ON)Princess Margaret Home Lottery Spring 2026 (ON)
Tickets available345,000102,000 for sale; 107,100 printedNot stated in the launch release
Ticket prices3 for $110, 6 for $200, 9 for $275, 20 for $550$100, 3 for $250, 5 for $375See official site
Number of prizes2,36143,893Over 15,000
Total prize value$3,772,742 (retail)$3,232,343.41More than $14 million
Top prizeChoice of homes or $2.5 million cash$1 million cash$8.5 million package with showhome and $500,000 cash
Published oddsNot stated on the rules page1 to 2 (any prize)Not stated in the launch release
Minimum age and location19+, physically in BC18+, in OntarioNot stated in the launch release
Claim windowOne year from the draw dateSix months after the final draw dateNot stated in the launch release

Sources: BC Children's Hospital Dream Lottery rules of play; Heart & Stroke Lottery rules and FAQ; Princess Margaret Cancer Foundation spring 2026 release. We have left the Princess Margaret cells blank where the release does not give a figure rather than guess; the full rules on the lottery's own site are where to find them.

Working the numbers: BC Children's Hospital Dream Lottery

The 2026 rules state 345,000 tickets, 2,361 prizes and a retail value of $3,772,742.

  • Chance of any prize per ticket: 2,361 ÷ 345,000 ≈ 1 in 146.
  • Chance of the grand prize per ticket: 1 in 345,000 if sold out.
  • Prize value per ticket: $3,772,742 ÷ 345,000 ≈ $10.94.
  • Average prize: $3,772,742 ÷ 2,361 ≈ $1,598.

Now the price. Per ticket, the packs work out to about $36.67 (3 for $110), $33.33 (6 for $200), $30.56 (9 for $275) and $27.50 (20 for $550). Worked example: if every ticket sold in 20-packs, gross sales would be 345,000 × $27.50 = $9,487,500 and the prize board would be about 40% of that; if every ticket sold in 3-packs, gross sales would be $12,650,000 and the prize board about 30%. Either way, of a $36.67 ticket, around $11 is prize value and the remainder supports the hospital and the cost of running the lottery.

Two details are worth reading closely. The grand prize winner chooses one of the listed options, including $2.5 million cash, and must decide on the cash equivalent within 10 days of being advised of the options. And the companion games have their own caps: the Daily Cash Plus has 229,230 tickets for 126 prizes worth $348,000, which is about $1.52 of prize value per ticket and roughly a 1 in 1,819 chance of a prize per ticket. The 50/50 Plus has 640,000 tickets and can only be bought with a main ticket; we break down how 50/50 maths works in our 50/50 draw odds guide.

Working the numbers: Heart & Stroke Lottery

The Winter 2027 Classic Lottery rules list 107,100 tickets printed, of which 102,000 are for sale and 5,100 are awarded as Super Bonus prizes, plus 43,893 prizes with a total value of $3,232,343.41, including taxes, fees and freight.

  • Published odds: the rules say 1 to 2. Our division is 43,893 ÷ 107,100 ≈ 1 in 2.44, the published figure being rounded.
  • Prize value per ticket: $3,232,343.41 ÷ 107,100 ≈ $30.18.
  • Average prize: $3,232,343.41 ÷ 43,893 ≈ $73.64.

That average is the figure that puts the headline odds in context. A board with nearly 44,000 prizes and a $1 million top prize must be made up overwhelmingly of small prizes. The grand prize alone is about 31% of the whole prize value. So a "1 in 2" chance of winning is accurate, but most wins are worth a small fraction of the $75 to $100 ticket price.

On price: $100 single, about $83.33 each in a 3-pack, $75 each in a 5-pack. Worked example: 102,000 tickets sold at $100 would gross $10.2 million, putting the prize board near 32% of sales; sold entirely as 5-packs, gross would be $7.65 million and the board near 42%.

Vehicle prizes carry stated cash alternatives that are below the listed vehicle values. Grand Prize 2, for example, offers a BMW X5 at $111,000 or a Genesis GV80 Coupe at $120,000, or $100,000 cash. If you would take the cash, value the prize at the cash figure, not the sticker.

Retail value versus what you would actually take home

Prize boards are stated at retail value, and that number flatters the board in two ways. First, cash alternatives on homes and cars are typically lower than retail, as the Heart & Stroke and BC Children's rules show. Second, a showhome brings ongoing costs that a cash prize does not. When comparing draws, a cleaner approach is to rebuild the board using cash alternatives wherever they are offered. If a rules page does not publish cash alternatives, that is useful information in itself.

Tax treatment of prizes is outside the scope of these rules pages; our page on gambling winnings and tax in Canada covers what the CRA says.

How to read and check the licence

Every legitimate draw prints its licence numbers on the rules page and on tickets:

  • Ontario: AGCO licences begin with RAF. The Winter 2027 Heart & Stroke draws list Classic Lottery Licence RAF1562506, 50/50 Lottery Licence RAF1562509 and March Money Lottery Licence RAF1562508 on the consumer protection page. Some smaller Ontario lotteries are licensed by municipalities instead; the AGCO says the licensing authority depends on location, expected prize amount and lottery type.
  • British Columbia: look for a BC Gaming Event Licence number. The 2026 Dream Lottery lists licences #174824, #173782 and #173745.

We did not find a public online register for looking up individual charity lottery licences. If a number looks wrong, or a draw you have never heard of is advertising on social media, call the regulator. The AGCO lists customer service at 1-800-522-2876, Monday to Friday. Red flags include no licence number, a prize board with no ticket cap and no stated odds, and payment requests by gift card or e-transfer to an individual.

What happens to unclaimed prizes

The Heart & Stroke FAQ says unclaimed prizes are reported and the AGCO approves a charitable allocation to the Foundation. The BC Children's rules give winners one year to claim but do not say what happens after that. Either way, a prize you forget to claim ends up with the charity rather than back in a pool for other buyers.

A five-minute pricing routine

  1. Open the rules page, not the ad. Note tickets available, number of prizes and total prize value.
  2. Divide prize value by tickets. That is your prize value per ticket.
  3. Divide the pack price by the tickets in it. Compare with step 2.
  4. Divide prize value by number of prizes to see what a typical prize is worth.
  5. Check the licence number and the claim window, and diary the draw dates.

Home lotteries are designed as fundraisers, and nothing above suggests otherwise. The arithmetic simply lets you decide how much of a ticket is a donation you are happy to make. If you find yourself buying extra packs to chase an early-bird deadline, the responsible gambling tools page has provincial support options.

Questions readers ask

What are the odds of winning a hospital home lottery grand prize?

One in the number of tickets sold, if there is a single grand prize. The 2026 BC Children's Hospital Dream Lottery caps sales at 345,000 tickets, so a sold-out draw gives each ticket a 1 in 345,000 chance.

Is a charity lottery ticket good value?

As a bet, no: prize value per ticket is about $10.94 in the 2026 BC Children's draw and about $30 in the Winter 2027 Heart & Stroke Classic, against prices of $27.50 to $100. The difference supports the charity and running costs.

Why does the Heart & Stroke Lottery say 1 in 2 odds?

It has 43,893 prizes against 107,100 tickets. Most of those prizes are small: the average prize value is about $74.

How do I check a charity lottery is licensed?

Look for the licence number on the rules page and tickets, such as RAF numbers in Ontario or BC Gaming Event Licence numbers in BC, and contact the provincial regulator if in doubt.

Can I buy a BC home lottery ticket from Alberta?

No. The BC Children's Hospital rules require buyers to be 19 or older and physically in British Columbia for the entire payment transaction.

Sources

  1. Criminal Code, section 207 (Justice Laws)
  2. BC Children's Hospital Dream Lottery 2026 rules of play
  3. Heart & Stroke Lottery rules
  4. Heart & Stroke Lottery FAQ
  5. Heart & Stroke Lottery consumer protection (licence numbers)
  6. Princess Margaret Cancer Foundation: Spring 2026 Home Lottery launch
  7. AGCO: Charitable gaming eligibility and licensing authority
  8. AGCO information bulletin (contact details)

Prepared by the CasinoInspectors editors from the sources listed above. This is general information, not legal, tax or financial advice. Spotted a mistake? Write to [email protected]. Gambling help: ConnexOntario 1-866-531-2600.

Read next